Is he wise? – part 2

Image

The remaining part of my previous post (i.e. Is he wise? – part 1)

My friend,

My father retired 30 years ago, after spending pretty much his entire life working for the government as a medical practitioner. My mum says the day his retirement money came he was so excited and claimed the money would last 20 years “if used wisely” and he was convinced that the future was “made”.  Well, Colstar Web, you will not believe me if I tell you that my father’s retirement money was a thing of the past by the time I was born, it lasted a mere 8 years. His poor computational skills are not to blame mind you, neither can his spending habit be put to fault.  The thing is, he judged the value of his money would remain more or less the same over the years. Colstar Web… it was a mistake. Yes, a mistake my father regrets to this day. See, he did his best in the way of spending the money ‘wisely’ but he got outdone by inflation at every turn. Thanks to all those clowns in the government, prices of goods and services keep going up. Clowns I say, you probably regard them as ‘politicians’ but the truth is they are only good for comedy and not high quality comedy for that matter.

Just now I would like to reiterate what I said earlier, that is… I wouldn’t like to work for the government [note: my friend is not a big fun of government service, as should be known to those who have read ‘Is he wise? – part 1’.

Don’t be fooled by politicians who claim things would be rosy and shiny if we had higher salaries. Higher salaries are well enough but what a nation ought to strive for is a combination of good salaries and a reasonable cost of living. By the way when I say ‘good salaries’ I am thinking about spendable income.

Hmm… a million bucks is no good if you cannot even by bread with it. Wait, wait… don’t laugh, look at happened in Zimbabwe [note: the idea that a million bucks would somehow fail to fetch bread tickled me heavily. Due to my ignorance of history and poor grasp of current affairs, I did not know that the preposterous suggestion my friend made was actually a reality in a modern day country. Around this point my friend dived into deeper waters and I was left behind, I being too shallow. Such being the case I will not stress and abuse my memory in hopes of retrieving the rest of the talk, I will simply throw in the towel as they say and curtain close ‘Is he wise?’ I was of the idea that I could somehow battle my way to recollecting everything my friend said, but I see that foolishness of the idea now]

Standard

Leave a Reply

